Your Reflection does not equal Your Self Worth

I have struggled with the idea of this most of my life…and definitely all of my adult life. It’s something that is so hard to actually believe. I can honestly say…I can’t tell you the last time I looked in a full length mirror. I can remember going clothing shopping with my mother as a teenager and refusing to look in the full length mirror. Eating disorders and body image distortion are horrible things to manage. I can admit that first hand. I bounce back and forth between weight loss and weight gain. Especially the past few years. I watch my weight on the scale yo-yo. One of the hardest things to do is to stop paying attention to the number on the scale and just focus on being healthy. I’m tempted to throw the scales out. (Yes I have 2). It makes me wonder what would happen if I stopped focusing on my weight and focused what I was putting into my body. Focused on getting more activity. Just focused on being healthy. It’s absolutely incredible to me that there are people who aren’t obsessed with how much they weigh. I’m shocked when people say that the only time they step on a scale is when they go to the doctor’s office. How do you break the scale addiction? How do you change your way of thinking? How do you disconnect how worthy you find yourself with the digits that are on your scale?

Too many of us focus on what we hate about ourselves and what we want to change instead of the things we love. It’s a goal of mine this year to start pointing out the positives within myself instead of focusing on the negatives. If I can break that cycle…I can break any cycle.

One thing I love about myself: My smile.

What’s one thing you love about yourself?

Leave a Reply

